Postseason Run Starts Thursday - University of Oregon Athletics

Story Links

EUGENE, Ore. – Oregon opens its postseason on Thursday evening, squaring off with fourth-seeded Quinnipiac at 7 p.m. at Matthew Knight Arena.
The Ducks are hosting the championships for the first time since 2011. The first meet of the day starts at 11 a.m. Fans can buy tickets and follow the tournament all weekend long on the NCATA Championships Central page:
When: Thursday, April 28
Where: Matthew Knight Arena
Time: 7 p.m.
Watch: ESPN+
Live Scoring:
Oregon and Quinnipiac will meet for the 15th time on Thursday. The Ducks won 12 of the previous 14 meetings, but the Bobcats' two wins have come in the last four meets, including a 268.540-267.620 QU victory earlier in April. Like Oregon, Quinnipiac was one of the founding members of the NCATA and the two teams squared off for the first time in 2010. The two teams have met twice before in the NCATA Championships with Oregon winning both previous matchups, most recently in 2016.
Oregon opened championship meet on a high note as several Ducks earned NCATA Awards. Blessyn McMorris made history as Oregon's first NCATA Freshman of the Year while Alyssa Hew earned a spot on the All-America team for the second time. As a base, McMorris helped Oregon average a 9.78 or higher in each of the three pyramid heats, as well as a 9.84 in the compulsory pyramid and a 9.77 in the compulsory toss. Hew became Oregon's 10th two-time All-American after competing as a base, tumbler and top throughout the season. Sara Buchner earned the Louise Goodrum Academic Award and was named to the All-Academic Team. The senior biology major boasts a 4.0 GPA and her 9.925 in aerial tumbling was Oregon's highest score in the heat in six years.
The Ducks have a storied history with acrobatics and tumbling that includes being one of the sport's pioneers. They are also one of the most successful programs in the country with appearances at every national championship event since the first one in 2011. Oregon has reached the NCATA Championship Finals nine times in the ten years of the event, winning national titles in 2011, 2013 and 2014. The Ducks have reached the semifinals in all nine years and have finished as national runner-up five times. Oregon also owns more than 40 individual event titles and 25 Ducks have been named All-Americans.
Print Friendly Version

Adblock test (Why?)