Nyck de Vries wins Formula drivers' championship at Berlin finale

The Dutchman secured the trophy with an eighth-placed finish.

Nyck de Vries won the 2021 Formula E drivers’ championship at the season finale Berlin ePrix on Sunday.

Jaguar’s Mitch Evans and Rokit Venturi’s Edoardo Mortara - two potential challengers - collided on the grid at the start, and at the restart Jake Dennis also crashed.

Ultimately De Vries’ eighth place was enough to secure his title, and a team title for Mercedes-EQ.

The race was won by Rokit Venturi's Norman Nato, in his first E-Prix victory. British Nissan e.dams’ Oliver Rowland was second and Mercedes-EQ's Stoffel Vandoorne took third.

Speaking after the race, 26-year-old Dutchman De Vries said: "I think we drove an incredible race.

"It's been such a tough season with highs and lows. Everything came down to the last race. We had a lot of fortune on our side today with everything that happened.”

Adblock test (Why?)