NRL All Stars 2021: How to watch, when is it, teams and live blog

The 2021 rugby league calendar is set to kick off with a bang as the Indigenous and Maori All-Stars teams face off at Queensland Country Bank Stadium.

The Maori side will be looking to back up their wins from 2020, with Brandon Smith playing an integral role in the men's 30-16 victory, whilst their women's side is attempting to secure their third consecutive victory after a 10-4 win.

However, the sides have been hampered by the Victorian lockdown, with several Melbourne Storm stars, including Smith and flyer Josh Addo-Carr forced to withdraw.



6:00: Fergy Flip

Blake Ferguson and his flip are becoming staples of the All Stars game, with the Eels winger showing some incredible skills to pull off the manoeuvre.

After a lacklustre 2020, Ferguson is eager to start with a bang for the Indigenous All-Stars.

"This year is a big year for me because I'm 31 and I'm off-contract and I need to provide for my family," Ferguson told Big Sports Breakfast. "But I also want to prove to myself that I've still got it.

"A lot of people were saying 'he's not capable of performing at his best every week' (last year)... but to hell with that."

Let's hope tonight we see more of this and he adds to the collection. 


5:55 pm: Amy Turner continues Maori onslaught

The wet Townsville conditions are failing to halt the Maori's impressive start to the game, with centre Amy Turner crossing for the second try of the match.

Despite the downpour, the Maori side has impressed with ball in hand, completing six of their first seven sets.

They would eventually turn the pressure into points, with the union convert going over untouched to extend the margin to 12-0.

5:45 pm: Raecene McGregor opens scoring in Women's All Stars game

Kiwi Ferns five-eighth Raecene McGregor has opened the scoring for the Maori side within the first ten minutes of the women's All-Star games.

The Bronco took advantage of a perfect kick by Zahara Temara, which rebounded off the up-rights to allow McGregor to place the ball down right under the posts.


5:40 pm: Intense war cries set the scene

One of the highlights of the All-Stars game is watching the two sides deliver their respective war cries, with the Women's teams setting the platform for an incredible night of football.


4:00 pm: Mason calls for Pacific All-Stars team

Former Australian and NRL All-Stars prop Willie Mason believes the annual All-Stars fixture has the potential to make a similarly lasting impact on the game, and wants to see a Pacific Island side introduced over the next few years. 

Speaking to Sporting News ahead of the match in Townsville this weekend, Mason believes that it's time to look towards expanding the concept.

"It's a great concept and I don’t think people realise how much it means to the Indigenous and the Maori boys - it just means so much," Mason told Sporting News. 

"You see with the hakas, the boys are crying because it means so much to be representing their families and their people, and the last couple of years have really showcased that.

"I think somehow, they need to introduce a Pacific or Polynesian All-Stars as well. That’s when it’s gonna happen. That’ll be unreal."



Both All-Stars matches will be live on 9Gem, with coverage starting from 5:30 pm with the women's game

You can also watch the match live via stream on the 9Now app - which is available on Smart TV's, Android devices, Apple devices, tablets and desktops.

Replays of the match will also be accessible through the 9Now  pp after its completion.

Alternatively. the matches will be shown on Foxtel on Fox League 502

You can catch all the proceedings LIVE through Kayo Sports here.



The women's game will kick off proceedings from 5:10 pm.

This will be followed by the men's game, which is slated to kick off at 8:10 pm



Indigenous Women's All-Stars v Maori Women's All-Stars 

Indigenous All Stars: 1. Jaime Chapman 2. Taleena Simon 3. Monique Donovan 4. Jasmine Peters 5. Leticia Quinlan 6. Taliah Fuimaono 7. Akira Kelly 8. Kaitlyn Phillips 9. Quincy Dodd 10. Caitlan Johnston 11. Shaniah Power 12. Shaylee Bent 13. Tallisha Harden 14. Lailee Phillips 15. Keilee Joseph 16. Olivia Kernick 17. Abelee Stanley 18. Ngalika Barker

Maori All Stars: 1. Corban McGregor 2. Botille Vette-Welsh 3. Amy Turner 4. Hayley Tipene 5. Jodeci Nicholson 6. Zahara Temara 7. Crystal Tamarua 8. Nita Maynard 9. Kennedy Cherrington 10. Mya Hill-Moana 11. Zali Fay 12. Rona Peters 13. Lavinia Gould 14. Shannon Mato 15. Raecene McGregor 16. Roxy Murdoch 17. Page Mcgregor 18. Shanice Parker


Indigenous Men's All-Stars v Maori Men's All-Stars 

Indigenous All Stars: 1. Latrell Mitchell 2. Blake Ferguson 3. Jack Wighton 4. Jesse Ramien 5. Alex Johnston 6. Cody Walker 7. Jamal Fogarty 8. Andrew Fifita 9. Reuben Cotter 10. Josh Kerr 11. David Fifita 12. Tyrell Fuimaono 13. Tyrone Peachey 14. Corey Thompson 15. Jamayne Taunoa-Brown 16. Cade Cust 17. Chris Smith 18. Zac Saddler 19. Josh Curran 20. Brian Kelly

Maori All Stars: 1. Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad 2. Dallin Watene-Zelezniak 3. Joey Manu​ 4. Dylan Walker 5. Patrick Herbert 6. Jarome Luai 7. Benji Marshall 8. Russell Packer 9. Jeremy Marshall-King 10. James Fisher-Harris 11. Briton Nikora 12. Jordan Riki 13. Joseph Tapine 14. Issac Luke 15. Emry Pere 16. Zane Musgrove 17. Jackson Topine 18. Esan Marsters 20. Daejarn Asi 22. Wiremu Greig


Josh Addo-Carr has been replaced in the Indigenous side by Gold Coast Titans flyer Corey Thompson. 

The Maori team, meanwhile, has been forced into more of an overhaul with Russell Packer, Esan Marsters, Daejarn Asi, Emry Pere, Issac Luke and Jackson Topine all coming in at the expense of Reimis Smith, Jahrome Hughes, Jesse Bromwich, Brandon Smith, Kenneath Bromwich and Nelson Asofa-Solomona.

Canberra Raiders winger Bailey Simonsson was a late withdrawal, replaced by Cowboys forward Wiremu Greig.



2010: Indigenous All Stars

2011: NRL All Stars

2012: NRL All Stars

2013: Indigenous All Stars

2015: Indigenous All Stars

2016: World All Stars

2017: Indigenous All Stars

2019: Indigenous All Stars

2020: Maori All Stars


2011: Women's All Stars

2013: Women's All Stars

2014: Women's All Stars

2015: Women's All Stars

2016: Women's All Stars 

2017: Indigenous Women's All Stars

2019: Māori Women's All Stars

2020: Māori Women's All Stars

Let's block ads! (Why?)