Kyle Busch keeps his win streak alive at Texas with first victory of the season

Kyle Busch’s streak lives on.

The 2019 Cup Series champion got his first win of 2020 in Wednesday night’s rain-delayed race at Texas. Busch was saving fuel and held off teammate Martin Truex Jr. for the win.

The victory continues Busch’s run of winning at least one race in each of his Cup Series seasons. Busch started driving full-time at NASCAR’s top level in 2005 and now has a 16-year win streak.

Busch was visibly relieved and satisfied after he got out of his car. He had been eliminated from the playoffs in the second round;

“The last three laps though? It’s like winning a championship, that’s how nervous I was,” Busch said as he wondered if his car was going to run out of fuel over the final few laps.

The car did not run out of gas until Busch went to do a burnout.

Busch’s win denied Truex Jr. an automatic spot in the title race at Phoenix in less than two weeks. Truex entered Sunday’s race — well, it started on Sunday — with a 20-point penalty after NASCAR confiscated his car’s spoiler following pre-race inspection.

The penalty meant that Truex had to start at the back of the field on Sunday. But he quickly maneuvered his way to the front of the field and was up there for much of the race.

But Busch got the lead by stretching his fuel over the final two fuel runs. Busch pitted from the lead with 66 laps to go after he almost ran out of gas following a 68-lap fuel run. The fuel stretching on the penultimate run allowed Busch to realistically make it to the end of the race without another pit stop.

Once Truex pitted, Busch was nearly six seconds ahead of his teammate. That gap allowed Busch to feather the throttle enough to preserve gas. And while Truex closed in on Busch over the final 40 laps, he never got close enough to make a challenge for the win.

NASCAR at Texas results

1. Kyle Busch

2. Martin Truex Jr.

3. Christopher Bell

4. Ryan Blaney

5. Alex Bowman

6. Brad Keselowski

7. Kurt Busch

8. Matt DiBenedetto

9. Denny Hamlin

10. Joey Logano

11. Austin Dillon

12. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

13. William Byron

14. Cole Custer 

15. Tyler Reddick

16. Kevin Harvick

17. Clint Bowyer

18. Ryan Preece

19. Ryan Newman

20. Chase Elliott

21. Erik Jones

22. John Hunter Nemechek

23. Aric Almirola 

24. Ty Dillon

25. Corey LaJoie

26. Michael McDowell

27. Daniel Suarez

28. Brennan Poole

29. Josh Bilicki

30. Timmy Hill

31. Garrett Smithley

32. Reed Sorenson

33. Quin Houff

34. Chris Buescher 

35. Chad Finchum

36. Jimmie Johnson

37. Joey Gase

38. Bubba Wallace

39. Matt Kenseth

40. JJ Yeley

Let's block ads! (Why?)